Powell Award

Daly-Donofrio receives William and Mousie Powell Award

The holiday season came a little early for LPGA Tour player Heather Daly-Donofrio, as she was honored by her peers with the William and Mousie Powell Award. LPGA Tour President Daly-Donofrio received the William and Mousie Powell Award, which recognizes an LPGA player who, in the opinion of her playing peers, through her behavior and deeds best exemplifies the spirit, ideals and values of the LPGA. Mousie Powell, an honorary member of the LPGA, donated the award to the LPGA Tour in 1986.
“I was very surprised because there are so many players who are so deserving of the award. It means a lot coming from my peers,” said Daly-Donofrio. “It’s important to give back to the organization and your peers. We would not have careers if not for the LPGA.”

Daly-Donofrio has been a steady presence on and off the course since her LPGA debut in 1998. She has averaged 22 tournaments each year she’s been a member, winning events in 2001 and 2004. She has also been a member of the LPGA Tour Player Executive Committee since 2003. In 2005, Daly-Donofrio continued to balance her personal life and professional career, which included being named LPGA Tour president and co-chair of the search committee to select the next LPGA commissioner after former-commissioner Ty M. Voatw announced his resignation. Daly-Donofrio played an intricate role in helping hire Carolyn F. Bivens as the seventh LPGA commissioner in history.

Before the LPGA, Daly-Donofrio was a four-year member of the Yale University women’s golf team, although she never had a golf lesson until she was 20-years-old. She graduated cum laude from Yale and later returned to her alma mater as the women’s golf coach from 1997 to 2000 and remained an assistant through 2003 while simultaneously maintaining a full schedule on the Tour.

The late Mousie Powell was a close supporter and friend of the LPGA from the 1950s until her death on Jan. 18, 1997. She was married to William Powell, a Hollywood legend and one of its leading male actors. Mousie, who was also featured in movies during that time, started the William and Mousie Powell Award in 1986. The award is intended to recognize the qualities and values of sportsmanship, which are not reserved only for winners.

Past winners of the William and Mousie Powell Award are: Kathy Whitworth, 1986; Nancy Lopez, 1987; Marlene Hagge, 1988; Heather Farr, 1989; Judy Dickinson, 1990; Pat Bradley, 1991; Shelley Hamlin, 1992; Alice Miller, 1993; Jill Briles-Hinton, 1994; JoAnne Carner, 1995; Betsy King, 1996; Sherri Turner, 1997; Judy Rankin, 1998; Meg Mallon, 1999; Lorie Kane, 2000; Wendy Ward, 2001; Gail Graham, 2002; Suzy Whaley, 2003; and Juli Inkster, 2004.

LPGA.Com 12/19/2005

Print Friendly, PDF & Email